Champions Tennis League Inauguration

Champions Tennis League is a privately owned tennis league, owned and operated by Second Serve Pvt. Ltd. Fronted by Indian tennis legend and global ambassador of the sport Vijay Amritraj, CTL is the only professional tennis league in India where team captains are grand slam champions and the players are amongst the best in the world. CTL holds the promise of taking tennis in India to new levels. This first edition of Champions Tennis League was scheduled to be played from 17 to 26 November 2014.


Teams & Players

There are total 6 teams from 6 different cities with 4 players in each team. These teams were divided into 2 zones.

Delhi Dreams Juan Carlos Ferrero Kevin Anderson Sanam Singh Jelena Jankovic
Mumbai Tennis Masters Sergi Bruguera Tommy Robredo Alize Cornet Sriram Balaji
Punjab Marshalls Greg Rusedski Somdev Devvarman Garbine Muguruza Leander Paes
Bangalore Raptors Thomas Enqvist Feliciano Lopez Venus Williams Ramkumar Ramanathan
Hyderabad Aces Mark Philippoussis Mikhail Youzhny Martina Hingis Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan
Pune Marathas Pat Cash Marcos Baghdatis Agnieszka Radwanska Saketh Myneni

First three teams were in North Zone and the latter three teams were in South Zone.

Delhi Dreams vs Punjab Marshalls



The opening match was in R.K. Khanna Tennis Complex, New Delhi. It was my 1st experience to watch a tennis game that too from the tennis court not from stands. I could feel that Dilli ki Sardi before the match started. But as both the teams entered the court, the whole environment heated up.

I think i was neutral supporter there. I was supporting Delhi as it is always my native place and I was supporting Punjab as my favorite Leander Paes and Garbiñe Muguruza were there.

Best part of the game was Mixed Doubles.
Leander Paes and Garbiñe Muguruza of Punjab Marshalls teamed up against Kevin Anderson and Jelena Jankovic of Delhi Dreams. Though Delhi Dreams were already on lead. But this game was all in Marshalls’ favour. And they won Mixed Doubles with 6-3.

At one stage Delhi were leading by a small margin of one game, leading the tie 19-18. But in 5th and final match Kevin Anderson won his side the tie easily. Delhi Dreams didn’t disappoint the home crowd and won the inaugural Champions Tennis League (CTL) match, winning all the singles matches for a 25-19 victory over Punjab Marshalls.

Post Match Selfies

How can I miss clicking selfies with my favorites. So here it goes.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *